The Little Green Dragon: The outcome of a lengthy 3D 2-piece mould making process

Now, finally the time has come for the last part of the mini-series about how to duplicate small forms and figurines. My smallest soapstone dragon was a good prototype for trying out the process of making a full 3D mould, which took place in several steps.

futschi

The prototype was “halfend” by a wall of plasticine, following the contours of the half-way line as straight as possible. A wall of cardboard was then built as a pouring area and the prototype was brushed with Vaseline to let the Silicone part from it when added. Small holes were pressed into the Plasticine wall as clearly as possible, they helped to “lock” the two mould halves together.

futschi_1

The Silicone was prepared with an additive to give it a gelly consistence so it could be brushed onto the prototype thoroughly. When this was done, the Silicone needed to cure. On top of this, a plaster jacket was applied. Messy? Oh yes 😉

futschi_2 futschi_3

When this had set, all of the Plasticine was removed thoroughly.

The whole process was repeated for the second half of the form. After the second plaster jacket had set, the mould could be taken apart, the prototype was removed and the mould was ready for casting.

???????????????????????????????futschi_4

My casting test was a hollow cast done with resin. The liquid material was spread and brushed very carefully into the put-together mould, held by the plaster jackets.

futschi7

For the “serious” cast, I added some green pigments to the polyurethane resin. Here is the outcome – a nice little green dragon, light as a feather.

IMG_0089klein

pic by Th. Schramm

 

futschi_end1

I found it very interesting how many different ways there are to mould and cast, and the astounding and often suprising effects one can apply to the casts using a variety of materials. The possibilities of deception seem endless 😉

12 thoughts on “The Little Green Dragon: The outcome of a lengthy 3D 2-piece mould making process

    • 😉 no, fumes are not really a problem, I just found the thorough slow mixing and exact measuring of the different liquids and especially in this case the time length of the curing process a bit challenging, but really interesting and rewarding results so it´s worth it – I love to learn new stuff. And yes, the deception one can create for instance to fake solid cool-surfaced heavy stone with material that is very light and warm-surfaced when you touch it is really cool, mouldmaking and casting really is an art of deception

      Like

        • hmm yes, maybe, there sure are many things in art and craft I´d like to try out … although I am most enthusiastic about the 3-D-art/crafts-world. At the moment due to stress and strain I am completely stuck with anything creative ;-(

          Like

        • We can only do what we can do.
          One of the reasons I like photography is the huge breadth of possibilities – not just the doing but the research too – in fact that breadth of possibilities is also the problem, I’m always having to reduce the scope of what I want to do because of ‘pressures’ from other things. (I should put a time lock on my study door so I’m not tempted into deviating from my chores!).

          Like

        • ;-o oohhh yes, soo true, and I think your idea with the timelock is brilliant! 😉 I could use one too (on my door and especially on my brain)… yeah the breadth of possibilities (and interests) for me is just like you say trouble and joy at the same time. I find it soothing to hear and read from others that they experience this too, and one can only go on day after day. Recently, I read a nice quote from Picasso, I think, who said Inspiration does come but it wants to find you working ;-). And books like “The War of Art” by S. Pressfield or books by Julia Cameron on a achieving/living a creative inspirational life describe that phenomenon as well. Sometimes tricking or bribing oneself also helps, the cheapest dirtiest tricks often work best 😉

          Like

        • I think the key is knowing oneself.
          I have no doubt that to be good at something we have to devote our lives to it. My earlier life choices mean I can’t do that, (I’m comfortable in that knowledge), so I’m content that I’ll always be playing catchup, or so it seems.

          😉

          Like

        • hmm I see…sounds a bit familiar to me…. If money, commitments and failure were completely irrelevant and you´d have 5 lives, what would be your occupation(s)? For me it sure would be: sculptor, creaturemaker, outdoor-guide in New Zealand, owner of a dog-rescue-home, owner of a charming little restaurant serving excellent organic food somewhere in South England 😉

          Like

        • I may have been a linguist (though I have no second language and hated learning them at school – we grow up).
          If money were no object, I would enrol in a course at Uni in the coming semester).
          I could concentrate on my churches project
          I could buy my lighthouse on an island! 😉
          I could learn any number of crafts/trades..
          I could travel the UK on my bike (not nose over the front wheel style but just a gentle saunter around).
          I don’t think I could get into teaching but mentoring might be something.
          My fundamental problem(?) is that I’m a Gemini by character, although I don’t believe in such twaddle, the character profile fits me pretty well. 😉

          Like

        • 🙂 hah, welcome to the club of Gemini “I want it all, and I want it NOW”. I am a Gemini 100% (by birth and character profile). Your list is really inspiring, yes languages are a great thing to learn, I´d love to practice more of the French and Spanish and Swedish I learnt years ago, and my decision to have my blog in English and not my mothertongue German also has to do with that. Yeah it really is important to keep all those desires and interests in one´s life, and I chortled to myself reading your slight desperation between the lines…to have many interests definetly IS a blessing although it sometimes does not feel like it:-). I am always absolutely thrilled and happy to meet likeminded people with just as many interests as I have or more. And being really interested in different things often leads to a deeper insight into those areas + often surprising talents are revealed…if you like to do something you usually do it well or learn it quickly. Ah – a lighthouse on an island sounds wonderful !! 😉 There is this interesting American author Barbara Sher who has named “people like us” scanners, and has also differentiated between different types. She gives intriguing suggestions how to follow all those desires and interests in one life in a satisfying way. So: you are blessed, you are not alone and you are far from being a boring person, doesn´t that sound good?;-)

          Like

        • 🙂 I think there’s a demarcation between being bored and being boring!
          The difficulty is always balance – I’d love to get out on my bike to suss a new route but I really do need to get on with some garden ‘landscaping’ and there’s the housework to be done…….

          Like

        • 😉 yep a garden always is a lot of work. I only have a balcony and more or less gave up on it for several reasons. Balance is essential and it is a lifelong learning process to find out what works best, priorities change as well throughout life…so he we are again with the best concept you offered and follow: go with the flow 😉

          Like

Leave a Reply

