What is a medi-pouf?

Well, that´s what I called my latest, now completed DIY-project, a meditation pouf (or cussion). Being quite wound up lately, I decided to give Zen meditation another try, to calm my always-busy mind. Simply buying a meditation cussion would be waaaay too easy = boring, so I quickly took stock of the stuff I had handy, saw I had everything I needed to sew such a thing (not surprising), ordered some filling (some kind of spelt wheat) and here is the result:

 

medi_pouf

It is very comfy, its top and bottom is made of soft felt material and the colourfully printed fabric is from Singapore (I still have some of it left, its gorgeous) – it looks nice and the filling reminds me of something I find VERY calming and nice: horses munching their oats ;-). If you are a horse-friend like me and have experienced how absolutely wonderfully calming horses can be while dozing or munching , the fabulous smell of hay and straw and grain in a stable, you might understand why this filling adds perfectly to the oblivion I am working towards in the next months ;-). It sure will be a huge challenge for me to just sit still for some time and NOT think, just breathe…but I am absolutely willing to give it a thorough go.

Leave a Reply

